http://www.hectorleonardi.com/index.html
Hector Leonardi recieved a BFA in painting from the Rhode Island School of Design in the early fifties and an MFA at Yale Unibersity. Later on he taugh basic design, color theory, and drawing at the Parson's School of Design. Over the past ten years, Leonardi has been in a period of experimentation that has precipitated a series of dramatic breakthroughs. The resulting paintings reflect the synthesis of such diverse influences as Josef Albers, Gustav Kilmt, Paul Signac and Jackson Pollock. He expresses his primarily abstract themes by applying acrylic on glass and then cutting it into small strips or small rectangles or triangles of pur paint then collaging them onto the surface of the canvas. 
    I have never heard anything like Leonardi's method before, and I was really interested in learning more. Even though it's only similar to the pieces I am working on now as a mixture of colors, I was originially going to work on glass and in fact, 4 of my first 10 works were on glass. I blew acrylic paint over them and I foudn the effect really eye catching. I got a lot of good feedback on them, however I decided to change my medium out of fear that I would break them. I really like how he works on square panels. I found that square panels work for me the best ass well. I'm going to take aspects of his work and add elements of his work such as his great palette choices in my upcoming pieces.
Mike Guyer
1/22/2013 04:16:31 am

When I saw his work at the Dillon Gallery in the Chelsea District of NYC last summer, I was mesmerized. The color is beyond intense, and caused my eyes to go in and out of focus without my control. His color hovers, and invites the viewer to move closer to examine the surface and attempt to deconstruct their making. I cannot say enough about the presence of his work. It is absolutely worth your time to keep up with his exhibitions and try to make it to see the work in person someday. This is a great artist for you to seek inspiration from.

Reply



Leave a Reply.